WARNING: On Monday May 14th 2012 between 17h00 and midnight,
the site will be temporarily unavailable for maintenance operation. Thank you for your understanding.
Vidéos
Classroom experiences with Timeline Web Application!



4 videos (in french only)
have been produced in elementary and high schools. These videos document teaching practices and experiences made in classrooms using the application and its contents.

Timeline Help Videos

Timeline Web Application
spacer

Settings Section

The settings section permits you to identify and configure your Timeline. This section contains these 4 tabs:

  1. Information tab
  2. Sharing and access rights tab
  3. Banner tab
  4. Submit tab

1. Information Tab

In the tab called Information, you must give your timeline a title and classify it according to a historical period.

Down below you must indicate the name of the author of the timeline, as well as the name of his/her colleagues if the timeline was constructed by a team. If ever the timeline is "shared" other users will see who created it. Click Add, near the bottom left of the table, to add names.

Note that you can modify this information at anytime.

2.Sharing and access rights Tab

The tab for Sharing and access rights permits you to share your timelines in three different ways.

Important note: to be able to access the Sharing and access rights tab, you must have entered an institution code when you first registered on the Timeline site. For more information regarding the institution codes, please consult institution code page.
  • In the Read mode, users can only visualize the shared timeline, without being able to modify it. Here it is also possible to permit direct Internet access for a third viewer to to visualize the Timeline. As before, the person who obtains viewing access this way will not be able to make modifications..
  • After choosing the Copy mode, users will possess a unique copy of the selected Timeline in their own account. The Timeline will now appear in their My Timelines list, and they can modify it without affecting the original version.e.
  • In the Collaborate mode, several users can access the same timeline and can each make their own changes. This mode allows you to create a timeline with several authors. Important note: only one collaborator should open the timeline at a time, in order to avoid erasing the work of the others when the document is saved.

To share a timeline according to one or more of the above modes, you need to note the access code provided by the server and if necessary create a password. You then need to transmit this access code and password (by email, in person, etc.) to users you wish to give access. Then, by clicking on the menu Shared timelines in their account, they will be able to enter the necessary access code and password and gain access to your timeline in the mode intended.

Note : you must use a different password for each shared access mode, even if the access code is the same.

While a user has access to your timeline, you will see her name appear in the list in the share area. At any time you can take back the access rights already given out, except when the copy mode was used

3. The Banner tab

The Banner tab allows you to choose the banner image that best represents your timeline. It remains visible at the top and gives the timeline its personality.

19 banners representing different historical epochs are available.

4. The Submit tab

The Submit tab allows you to offer your timeline to all other Timeline application users, such that it will be included in the list of Public Resources. By clicking on the tab, further details will be clearly explained.

Free application under GPL license          Logo: Idéeclic    Logo: Commission scolaire de la Pointe-de-l'Île    Logo: Ministère de l'éducation, Loisirs et Sport
lignedutemps.qc.ca - version 3.0.production - 2015/06/09 - 20:21

revision a9558a5a7798b26eea801af24132d5ef463d6cf8

AVERTISSEMENT: Lundi le 14 mai 2012 entre 17h00 et minuit,
le site sera temporairement inaccessible pour une opération d’entretien. Merci de votre compréhension.
Videos
Des vidéos sur l'expérimentation de la ligne du temps en classe!



4 vidéos
au primaire et au secondaire ont été réalisées afin de documenter les expérimentations en classe et d'observer les pratiques pédagogiques employées lors de l’utilisation de l'application et de ses contenus.

Consulter les vidéos d'aide de la ligne du temps

L'application Web de la ligne du temps
spacer 

Section Paramètres

La section Paramètres permet de bien identifier la ligne du temps. Elle contient les 4 onglets suivant :

  1. Onglet Informations
  2. Onglet Partage et droits d'accès
  3. Onglet Bannière
  4. Onglet Soumettre

1. Onglet Informations

Dans l’onglet Informations, il faut donner un titre à la ligne du temps et la classer selon sa période historique.

Tout en bas, il faut indiquer le nom de l’auteur de la ligne du temps, ainsi que le nom de ses collègues, si la ligne est construite en équipe. Si la ligne du temps est partagée, les autres utilisateurs pourront voir qui en est l’auteur. Cliquez sur Ajouter, en bas à gauche du tableau, pour ajouter un nom.

En tout temps, il est possible de revenir modifier ces informations.

2. Onglet Partage et droits d'accès

L’onglet Partage et droits d’accès permet de partager vos lignes du temps selon trois modes différents.

Notez bien : pour avoir accès à l’onglet Partage et droits d’accès, vous devez avoir fourni un code d’institution, lors de votre inscription. Pour plus d’informations consulter la page concernant le code d’institution.
  • Avec le mode Lecture, les utilisateurs peuvent uniquement visualiser la ligne partagée, sans pouvoir la modifier. Il est aussi possible, avec ce mode, de donner l’adresse Internet directe de votre ligne du temps à un tiers pour lui permettre de visualiser votre ligne du temps. La personne qui visualise votre ligne à partir de cette adresse ne peut pas y apporter de modification.
  • Dans le mode Copie, les utilisateurs se retrouvent avec une copie de la ligne dans leur propre compte. La ligne apparaît donc dans leur liste « Mes lignes du temps », et ils peuvent la modifier sans que la ligne originale ne soit affectée.
  • Dans le mode Collaboration, les utilisateurs accèdent tous à la même ligne du temps et y apportent des modifications. Ce mode permet de créer une ligne du temps à plusieurs auteurs. Attention : un seul collaborateur à la fois peut ouvrir la ligne, afin d’éviter que le travail de l’un ne soit écrasé par le travail de l’autre.

Pour partager une ligne selon l’un ou l’autre de ces modes, vous devez noter son code d’accès (fourni par le serveur) et lui attribuer un mot de passe. Vous devez ensuite communiquer ce code d’accès et ce mot de passe (par courriel, en personne, etc.) aux utilisateurs voulus. En cliquant sur le menu Lignes du temps partagées de leur compte, ils pourront ensuite entrer ce code d’accès et son mot de passe et accéder à votre ligne selon le mode voulu.

Attention : vous devez attribuer un mot de passe différent à chaque mode de partage, même si le code d’accès est le même.

Lorsqu’un utilisateur accède à votre ligne du temps, vous voyez apparaître son nom dans la liste qui se trouve sous chaque mode de partage. En tout temps, il est possible de venir y retirer un droit d’accès déjà donné, sauf pour le mode copie.

3. L'onglet Bannière

L’onglet Bannière permet de choisir l’en-tête le plus représentatif de votre ligne du temps. Il figurera en haut de celle-ci et lui donnera sa personnalité.

19 bannières représentant différentes époques historiques sont disponibles.

4. L'onglet Soumettre

L’onglet Soumettre offre la possibilité d’offrir une ligne du temps à l’ensemble des utilisateurs de l’application pour qu’elle fasse partie des Ressources publiques. En cliquant sur l’onglet, les modalités sont clairement expliquées.

Application libre sous licence GPL          Logo: Idéeclic    Logo: Commission scolaire de la Pointe-de-l'Île    Logo: Ministère de l'éducation, Loisirs et Sport
lignedutemps.qc.ca - version 3.0.production - 2015/06/09 - 20:21

revision a9558a5a7798b26eea801af24132d5ef463d6cf8